Seven attitudes of mindfulness

Kelp on beach. Big Sur, California

I taped the following list to my desk as a reminder of the mental framework that supports a life lived mindfully. I found it in Natalie Goldberg’s The True Secret of Writing: Connecting Life with Language. I hope you find it as useful as I have.

“Mindfulness means to be aware, awake. To be alive, attentive, receiving as we move through our day. Not brittle, blind, disjointed, out-of-touch, stressed, nervous, excited — or at least aware of these states and even having a bit of compassion for ourselves. This list is a reminder of another way to be in the world — really a relief, a way out of our distress.

  1. Nonjudging
  2. Patience
  3. Beginner’s mind
  4. Trust
  5. Nonstriving
  6. Accepting
  7. Letting go

“These seven attributes are the state of mind advantageous for writing, sitting, walking. Also for approaching your employees, your boss, friend, lover, enemy. A way to carry yourself. And we can so easily forget. Put the list on your refrigerator.”

© 2013 Laura K Kerr, PhD. All rights reserved (applies to writing and photography).


  1. Roberta McDonnell says:

    Thank you for the reminder of the transformation that is possible with a meditative attitude 🙂

Comments are closed.